Archive for September 2nd, 2009

02
Sep
09

Kurt Cobain Does Bon Jovi

The skeleton drummer is rolling in his grave too…

02
Sep
09

Andrew WK Still Parties, Sans Vocals and Riffs

In fall of 2001, I was a freshman at a liberal arts school in Boston, swapping Spin for CMJ and learning the fine art of “college music” from the good book of Thurston Moore. Then, like a bloody party Jesus from the heavens, along came Andrew WK to save me from my pity party:

andrewwk-742139

Always cheesy, never subtle, and maybe akin to what you’d find on Jock Jams, at first glance AWK conjures little more than a WTF. But beneath the mangy surface lies much more: high energy hedonism, pop melodies, and genuine POSITIVITY… rare in pop and rock these days and non-existent in what we were listening to back then.

Anyway, AWK is back, sort of, with “55 Cadillac,” a new album of what he calls “spontaneous solo piano improvisations.” You can hear “Central Park Cruiser” on Billboard.com now. It’s piano. It’s not rock. It’s out Sept. 8th. And wouldn’t ya know… it’s being released by Thurston Moore’s label.

What’s the opposite of “selling out”?

02
Sep
09

I’m listening to Deflorate by Black Dahlia Murder

It leaked, I’m listening. I don’t hate it. Maybe this means I’ve grown to tolerate things. Hell, I tolerated Ruination by JFAC. You might even be able to say I liked it. In all seriousness, I feel as if I’m exposing myself to more and more of the genre that is Metal and I’ve come to find out that I enjoy a lot of the more extreme stuff.

I’ve yet to form a real opinion on the album. I’m more than half way through, and it’s sounding alright.

02
Sep
09

Slayer’s World Painted Blood gets a release date!

slayer_1988

According to my sources (The rest of the internet) World Painted Blood will be released on November 3rd. Rejoice! According to the official press release, there will be a limited edition CD with multiple covers, a deluxe CD/DVD edition and a high-quality 180-gram vinyl edition as well.

I get really excited about a new Slayer albums all the time but then I remember I have to stomach Kerry King’s solos. Oh well, we can’t win ’em all.




September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Suck My Tweet