Archive for August 17th, 2009

17
Aug
09

#27? Fuck You, Rolling Stone.

I think what makes a good guitarist is versatility. If they’re one-dimensional (this means you, Steve Vai and Ingwe Malmsteen), I don’t think much of them. It’s cool to see an artist playing around with different mediums. Stevie Ray could just as easily jam on a slow jazz tune or rip on a 12-string accoustic as he could play electric blues; Hendrix too. Mark Knopfler though, is the epitomy of this. The man plays hard rock, blues rock, jazz rock, country and folky sounding ballads and does it all at the highest level. Anyone that can sit down and trade licks with Chet Atkins and not look a complete fool has got something going, that much is certain. Just watch and listen:

17
Aug
09

Crave Online reviews Blue Record by Baroness

I’m a little bit scared to listen to the album because of all the hype. Almost everyone I’ve talked to that has listened to more than just “Bullhead’s Psalm/The Sweetest Curse” has told me that the album is amazing. More than just music, an experience. It’s cliche as hell but I know of several albums that are an “experience.”

Anyway, Iann Robinson of Crave Online recently reviewed the album and what he had to say was no different. I’m eagerly anticipating the release of this album. Maybe anticipating it more than I did Crack the Skye. Before I link you to the full review, I will leave you with a direct quote from Mr. Robinson that will be sure to draw you in.

I know I’ll probably get kicked in the teeth for this but Blue Record is the album that Mastodon wished they had written.

Click here to read Crave Online’s Review of Blue Record.

17
Aug
09

Megadeth – 1,320

The latest leak off of Megadeth’s upcoming album Endgame. I’m surprised Mustaine has time to record music between all the shit talking he does. If “Headcrusher” wasn’t enough for you to decide whether this album is going to be great, listen to “1,320.” The guitar solos are pretty sick.

Endgame will be released September 15th via Roadrunner.

17
Aug
09

Converge’s Axe To Fall ALbum art and Tracklist revealed

converge_axe_to_fall

Axe to Fall will be released October 20th via Epitaph.

01. Dark Horse
02. Reap What You Sow
03. Axe To Fall
04. Effigy
05. Worms Will Feed
06. Wishing Well
07. Damages
08. Losing Battle
09. Dead Beat
10. Cutter
11. Slave Driver
12. Cruel Bloom
13. Wretched World




August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Suck My Tweet